How do I adjust my IP for high altitude?

Discuss (and cuss) the Nissan LD-series OHC Six diesel engine, popularly available in the US in 1981-83 Datsun/Nissan Maxima Sedans & Wagons.

Moderators: plenzen, glenlloyd, goglio704, Nissan_Ranger

rlaggren

How do I adjust my IP for high altitude?

Post by rlaggren »

NewDieselHead wrote:What do you have available? I am new to the Diesel Maxima (8 month ownership). I have replaced my power steering rack and ball joints as well as the shocks and struts, rear springs and the oil and filter. New trans fluid and rear axle fluid (differential). New brakes all around. Have an auto trans to swap into it. Want to know what you have and if there is any way to adjust the diesel injection pump for the elevation of Colorado Springs (car cam from Alturas, California, just above Reno, Nevada). Thanks.
I believe the 83's had a diaphragm on the top of the IP that compensated for altitude. Earlier years it would have be manual adjustment.

Rufus
82 Maxima wagon
NewDieselHead

Post by NewDieselHead »

My IP looks the same as the one in the picture at the top of this thread. I have a pump (original owner stated he took off the car - it doesn't look the same). Not sure what year the one on my car is for. But low power, moderate to high smoke under excelleration and hard shifts. Although a shop test-drove the car and states that it is working fine, I don't agree with the power of the car. It seems to have less then my wifes Geo Metro 3 cyl manual. My car is the 3 speed auto with locking torq converter. Still get about 25 to 27 around town (Colorado Springs, Colorado) and about 30 on the highway here to Denver and back. SO not sure what I can do if anything for it? Thanks for any suggestions and help on the checking of timing for the injector pump and adjustments for altitude.
rlaggren

Post by rlaggren »

W/locking convertor and no overdrive, that's an 82.

Mileage sounds well in the ball park, good, even.