New guy! My first Chrysler/Nissan and I need a little help

SD diesels were widely available in the US in the 1981-86 Datsun/Nissan 720 pickups, and in Canada through '87 in the D21 pickup.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

Cwarta

New guy! My first Chrysler/Nissan and I need a little help

Post by Cwarta »

Hey guys, looking for some input here! I just picked up my first 4cyl diesel. I am no stranger to diesel I absolutley love them. Been working on and been around them for years. However I have zero experience with these and would like to give them a shot.

I have an sd22 and it has the cav pump not the Kiki pump. Runs excellent, although for about the first 2-3 minutes of cold startup it has a slight miss. It goes away as it warms up.

I've been reading and reading and reading on these little guys.
I see they do not hold a lot if boost but 10-12# should be ok. I purchased a Td04 9b turbo for it, and that's what I want to double check and make sure this turbo will be ok for me. I'm looking to make about 12#. Hoping to get the little motor up to around 100/175 and be reliable. I'm not sure on the turbo spevs but it's a stock 30000gt vr4 turbo, 1 of two the car has factory. The car is ab3.0 twin turbo stock. So one turbo would be about a normal 1.5l turbo lol. What do you think?
waynosworld

Re: New guy! My first Chrysler/Nissan and I need a little he

Post by waynosworld »

The turbo likely will work just fine, I have found that most that try to turbocharge these SD engines get to big of a turbo and it never builds anything more than a couple pounds of boost at best.