Transmission replaced

Dealing with all subsystems specific to the diesel powered Datsun-Nissan 720 pickup trucks.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

Nissan_Ranger

Transmission replaced

Post by Nissan_Ranger »

About a month ago I replaced my transmission with one of my spares. It would appear I ruined it this past winter by being a fool with it 'bump' starting it in my friends well sloped driveway. That's what I suspect, anyway, as I never had any sound from it until after I did that a few times. The last day I drove it before removing it, it was singing me a multi-toned whine together in every gear except 4th which leads me to believe I damaged the layshaft cluster bearings and/or cluster drive set. Lesson learned.... Don't piss around bump starting in any gear but maybe 4th...

One good thing I found out. The clutches in these trucks are excellent. I've been driving this thing since 2004 and the clutch disc still had the words 'flywheel side' still legible on it and not even fully broken in yet. Still had some virgin surface left on both sides:-).
The old 'six gun' was as popular as the cell phone in its time and just as annoying when it went off in the Theater.
Nissan_Ranger

Post by Nissan_Ranger »

Seems like it was just yesterday that I posted about replacing the transmission. Well..... going again. Thought I noticed a change in the feel and sound, so decided to change the fluid. It came out as a nice grey chunky soup with pieces of bearing cage leading the way. My remaining spare also yielded a piece of bearing cage. Man, these trannys are a pile of cheap crap. Anyway, on Monday am going down to the transmission re-builder who tells me he may have one. More to follow...

N_R
The old 'six gun' was as popular as the cell phone in its time and just as annoying when it went off in the Theater.
asavage
Site Admin

Post by asavage »

For those just tuning in . . .