Injection Pump

Discuss (and cuss) the Nissan LD-series OHC Six diesel engine, popularly available in the US in 1981-83 Datsun/Nissan Maxima Sedans & Wagons.

Moderators: plenzen, glenlloyd, goglio704, Nissan_Ranger

Belal

Injection Pump

Post by Belal »

Hi, I have just joined this forum, and I am not good with computers, this is pure luck that i found this forum I hope I am accepted.
I am and admirer of LD28 I am facing a few problems after servicing IP twice last week, the engine hardly starts with 2 batteries, does not idle ,lots of blue and black smoke , looks like a malfunctioning governer.
Its an SOS call.
Regards
diesel-man
Deceased

Post by diesel-man »

Serviced the IP in what way? New fuel filter? (air in lines) New IP belt? (go back and make sure that it is on the right marks... 20 cogs is 7 1/8")
Belal

Post by Belal »

Hello,
Thank you, Okay,sorry not to mention ,I have put new filter,new injector nozzles when i got the pump serviced last week. I removed the pump and took it to the workshop where they didmanteled it ,put a reconditioned rotor-head, new kit and seals e.t.c.
This engine is in 80 Chevy Impala estate with me for last 10 years. I bought and overhauled it in 2000, have done more than 200k and it still doesn't consume oil and have not developed back compression either.
I removed the pump only due to the reason that smooth idling was gone for past six months.the pump timing is alright but,I will very minutely fix the timing again, the way you have mentioned.
Later i will also share my diff problem.
Regards
diesel-man
Deceased

Post by diesel-man »

I take it that we are talking about a 5.7 Olds diesel? If so perhaps you can advance the timing? Three bolts hold it, and twist it with some large channel lock pliers (while running) to see which way it speeds up and runs "easier" or runs slower and more "lazy". It has a mechanical fuel pump, so the air should be cleared out by now.