Any Portland SD22 Mechanics willing to look over my truck?

SD diesels were widely available in the US in the 1981-86 Datsun/Nissan 720 pickups, and in Canada through '87 in the D21 pickup.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

Driftwood

Any Portland SD22 Mechanics willing to look over my truck?

Post by Driftwood »

Hi, I'm new to this blog and live in Portland, OR. I noticed there's quite a few Portland members and was wondering if anyone is willing to help me go through the engine to see if theres anything I'm overlooking. I'd be more than happy to compensate for your time!

The jist...

I bought this truck recently and it's been sitting for quite a few years. Exactly how long is unknown to me but the tags expired in 95'. The other day I got it running for the first time! Appears the fuel rail was a little stuck and I've isolated the problem to to the DPC unit or the IP motor. Going to install a choke cable through the firewall for the mean time to manually cut off fuel.

Any procedures I should go through for an engine that has been sitting for a while?

Any kind of help or recommendations to a good SD22 mechanic would be much appreciated. It seems like theres not many out there who are familiar with the SD22.

Cheers and thanks everyone for the informative posts!
larrynsr

Post by larrynsr »

Just be sure to change all your oils. I use only chevron delo 400 15w-40 diesel oil. Walmart has them for $12 a gallon. Also flush your cooling system and add a good coolant additive available at oil filter service in Se pdx on market street. Be sure to also add a drop or two of cod liver oil in the injection pump diaphram.
Driftwood

Post by Driftwood »

Thanks larrynsr, got that all covered. Just trying to to tune her up now. Got to make sure she passes emissions.
charmalu

Post by charmalu »