valve adjustment on 720 SD22

SD diesels were widely available in the US in the 1981-86 Datsun/Nissan 720 pickups, and in Canada through '87 in the D21 pickup.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

docdillio

Post by docdillio »

just recently put in a new head gasket, etc. Truck starting and running well, but valves (or lifters?) seem to be making more noise than i think they should. I'm fairly new with diesels, so maybe this is normal. I did adjust the valves as per the manual, but in idle, they seem to "rattle" more than seems normal. and when i'm driving and initially step on the gas, it rattles. or when i'm going uphill, it rattles. i know it's a diesel, but now i'm wondering if i didn't actually have piston 1 and 4 at tdc when i made the adjustments. or maybe my lifters are shot? or have i missed some timing adjustment I'm not familiar with? any thoughts or advice?
plenzen

Post by plenzen »