SD25 Turbo Blues

SD diesels were widely available in the US in the 1981-86 Datsun/Nissan 720 pickups, and in Canada through '87 in the D21 pickup.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

dc1184

SD25 Turbo Blues

Post by dc1184 »

Hello,

I've been reading through this forum for a while, studying, and trying to learn as much as possible about my SD25 engine. What a wealth of knowledge. I'm no mechanic, so bear with me, I might butcher some terminology.

I have an SD25 in my 1973 Series 3 Land Rover, and it's been quite a nice upgrade from the original diesel engine. If you think the SD engines are gutless, you ain't seen nothing....you can get overtaken by old men on bicycles running the original land rover diesel engine.

The vehicle still has the original 4 speed gearbox and transfer case. I mounted a mitsubishi turbo, the TC05-12a, after reading through some good advice on this board. No intercooler installed. I would max boost at around 8psi, and I had the wastegate shortened almost to the limit to promote boost. If I adjusted the wastegate tension to allow it to open under less pressure, I would lose considerable boost. With very little adjustment on the wastegate I'd be maxing out at 3psi, which I thought was pretty lame for boost. Hence, I tried to keep the wastegate with as much tension as possible.

For 6 months I was ok, no real issues. Last week, my engine locked up....cracked piston. bad news. i was running standard pistons, nothing ceramic coated or aftermarket. For the last month leading up to this event, there were warning signs that I could not address in time to prevent this disaster. I was losing water, and running hotter than normal. The radiator was fine, I couldn't find any water leaks. I took the vehicle to a local mechanic for troubleshooting (keep in mind I live in a 3rd world country where anyone with a wrench is a "mechanic"), and the mechanic could not identify any major issues. So off I went until disaster struck.