Engine swap - Am I crazy?

SD diesels were widely available in the US in the 1981-86 Datsun/Nissan 720 pickups, and in Canada through '87 in the D21 pickup.

Moderators: plenzen, Nissan_Ranger

Sentientpuppet

Engine swap - Am I crazy?

Post by Sentientpuppet »

Hi I'm new here, asavage pointed me here from craigslist a while back when I was looking for an sd22 engine to drop into my 84 KC gasser. Anyway I'm trying to decide whether this is beyond my capabilities. I know next to nothing about diesel engines besides the basics. I have done tons of work on my Z24 engine though, completely rebuilt the head and striped everything except for the block itself... I'm a completely self taught mechanic straight outa the haynes and chiltons manuals.
Now I've been told by a few people that I'm crazy trying to get my hands into a diesel because diesel work needs to be very precice and whatever. Am I going into something way outa my legue? Can I just follow the manual the way I always have? or is the diesel engine way too complicated and outa my range?
philip
Deceased

Re: Engine swap - Am I crazy?

Post by philip »

Sentientpuppet wrote:Hi I'm new here, asavage pointed me here from craigslist a while back when I was looking for an sd22 engine to drop into my 84 KC gasser. Anyway I'm trying to decide whether this is beyond my capabilities. I know next to nothing about diesel engines besides the basics. I have done tons of work on my Z24 engine though, completely rebuilt the head and striped everything except for the block itself... I'm a completely self taught mechanic straight outa the haynes and chiltons manuals.
Now I've been told by a few people that I'm crazy trying to get my hands into a diesel because diesel work needs to be very precice and whatever. Am I going into something way outa my legue? Can I just follow the manual the way I always have? or is the diesel engine way too complicated and outa my range?
First, welcome to our sandbox. :)