Using [gototpost] with the [anchor] tag

Post here to test posting techniques, image attachments, try out bbcode, test signatures, report problems with the forum software, etc.

Moderator: Nissan_Ranger

Post Reply
User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

Using [gototpost] with the [anchor] tag

#1

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago

Shagbark wrote:test
That was sneaky , bringing me back to the same link again


while im here i should learn this, how the hell do the links know where to go in the middle of a page with a link. When I do it it just goes to the top of the page, when pro's do it they can make it go right to the spot and it is making me jelous :D
Last edited by kassim503 13 years ago, edited 2 times in total.
'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
asavage
Site Admin
Posts: 5349
Joined: 15 years ago
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Contact:

#2

Post by asavage » 13 years ago

kassim503 wrote:while im here i should learn this, how the hell do the links know where to go in the middle of a page with a link. When I do it it just goes to the top of the page, when pro's do it they can make it go right to the spot and it is making me jelous :D
Can you cite an example?

I assume you mean something like, oh,

http://nissandiesel.dyndns.org/viewtopi ... _IP_timing ?
(the same link, using [ gotopost] is [gotopost2=4,IP_timing] )

Since you generally can't figure out what someone else has named an inline anchor, you usually can't use other people's anchors. If you have permission to quote or edit a post, you can use the Compose window to search for the anchorname. Quote a post that you think may have an anchor, then within the Compose window, search for the word "anchor" using your browser's built-in Search (usually <Ctrl+F>).

Another place I use post anchors is in the SD Fuel Filters thread, where I have an anchor for the Secondary filter.
Last edited by asavage 6 years ago, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

#3

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago

Last edited by kassim503 13 years ago, edited 1 time in total.
'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
asavage
Site Admin
Posts: 5349
Joined: 15 years ago
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Contact:

#4

Post by asavage » 13 years ago

Wow, I didn't know about the internal [goto] link. Only works for referencing within a post, but still . . . I didn't know about it.

Link to post above, "sneaky".
Last edited by asavage 13 years ago, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

#5

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago

'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

#6

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago

ok i think i got it, but how do i figure out whats the post number?
I tried looking at the numbers located at the end of the url but it didnt work
'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
asavage
Site Admin
Posts: 5349
Joined: 15 years ago
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Contact:

#7

Post by asavage » 13 years ago

kassim503 wrote:ok i think i got it, but how do i figure out whats the post number?
I tried looking at the numbers located at the end of the url but it didnt work
See this thread for details on finding the post number ("postnum").

User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

#8

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago

im slowly getting it, i tried linking to another post successflly but then after that i was not able to link straight to the area, even though i planted an anchor in the middle of the topic. not to worry, ill try it again in the morning and I know ill get it sometime. I could just blame it on technology and call it a day, but im determined :lol:
'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
kassim503
Posts: 1027
Joined: 14 years ago
Location: Stony Brook, NY

#9

Post by kassim503 » 13 years ago


this is a anchor that i linked from the other topic
'83 maxima sedan, l24e, a/t, black

227K SOLD 6/7/2012

User avatar
asavage
Site Admin
Posts: 5349
Joined: 15 years ago
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Contact:

#10

Post by asavage » 12 years ago

I just found that one can't have an anchor that begins with a number.

Code: Select all

[anchor]720[/anchor]
will not work, but

Code: Select all

[anchor]pickup[/anchor]
does.

User avatar
asavage
Site Admin
Posts: 5349
Joined: 15 years ago
Location: Duvall, Wash.
Contact:

#11

Post by asavage » 12 years ago

This is the Anchor MOD FAQ, which for some reason didn't get added automatically to our forum's FAQ section when the MOD was installed.
=================================================
How to make anchors and link inside posts

This board has anchoring and linking within posts enabled.
  • To make anchors within your posts, just specify [anchor]anchorname[/anchor].
  • To link to that anchor:
    1. From within that post, use [goto=anchorname]text[/goto].
    2. From another post on the same page, use [goto=postnum,anchorname]text[/goto].
    3. From another post on a different page, use [gotopost=postnum,anchorname]text[/gotopost].
  • You can also use goto and gotopost to link to the top of any post:
    1. [goto=postnum]text[/goto] if the other post is on the same page,
    2. Otherwise use [gotopost=postnum]text[/gotopost]
Regards,
Al S.

1982 Maxima diesel wagon, 2nd & 4th owner, 165k miles, rusty & burgundy/grey. Purchased 1996, SOLD 16Feb10
1983 Maxima diesel wagon, 199k miles, rusty, light yellow/light brown. SOLD 14Jul07
1981 720 SD22 (scrapped 04Sep07)
1983 Sentra CD17, 255k, bought 06Jul08, gave it away 22Jun10.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest